

FOX VALLEY PARK DISTRICT BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS Serving the Fox Valley Park District Kane, DuPage, Kendall and Will Counties, Illinois OPEN SESSION MEETING MINUTES January 13, 2025 5:00 PM

Cole Administration Center 101 W. Illinois Avenue, Aurora

1.0 CALL MEETING TO ORDER

President Anderson called the meeting to order at 5:00PM.

2.0 PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE AND MOMENT OF SILENCE

President Anderson let the recitation of the Pledge of Allegiance.

3.0 ROLL CALL

President Anderson directed the Board Secretary to take attendance by roll call. The following members of the Fox Valley Park District Board of Commissioners were present: Jerry Butler, Marea Clement, Maryanne Cummings, Joe Grisson, Matt Hicks, Jr., and President Chuck Anderson. Aimee Cisneros was present via Teams after a consensus was given by those commissioners physically present. Also present: Executive Director Jennifer Paprocki, Attorney Hodge, Directors Campbell, Goll, Halverson, Ijams, Kinsland, Michael, Palmquist, and Chief Lapp, and administrative staff.

4.0 ADDENDA TO THE AGENDA

None presented.

5.0 CONSENT AGENDA

- 5.1 Approve the Public Hearing minutes and Open Session meeting minutes of December 9, 2024.
- 5.2 Approve accounts receivable write-offs for January 2025 in the amount of \$3,860.
- 5.3 Ratify Executive Director's compensation.
- 5.4 Approve the Intergovernmental License Agreement between the Fox Valley Park District and the Village of North Aurora for North Aurora Days fireworks on Fox Valley Park District property.
- 5.5 Approve the annual renewal and security licensing upgrades for Microsoft cloud services to ITSavvy in the amount of \$101,420.40.
- 5.6 Approve the Capital Projects Cost Summary and Project Bid Schedule Report for January 2025.
- 5.7 Ratify the purchase and installation of 7 Fieldhouse Court Divider Curtains at the Vaughan Athletic Center to H2I Group in the amount of \$160,897.
- 5.8 Approve a contract extension to HLR and V3 in the total amount of \$500,000 for 2025 natural areas maintenance and inspection.
- 5.9 Approve the Stuart Sports Complex Synthetic Turf Field Rental Fee Structure.
- 5.10 Approve the electric supply and natural gas supply contracts with Champion Energy and Mansfield Energy.

A motion and a second was made to approve the consent agenda as presented. Roll call voting Aye: Jerry Butler, Aimee Cisneros, Marea Clement, Maryanne Cummings, Joe Grisson, Matt Hicks, Jr., and President Chuck Anderson. Voting Nay: none, and the consent agenda was approved.

6.0 REPORTS RECEIVED FOR INFORMATION ONLY

- Payables for December 2024
- Payroll for December 2024
- Statement of Revenue and Expenses for November 2024
- Department Director Reports

A motion and a second was made to receive the reports for informational purposes. Voice voting Aye: Jerry Butler, Aimee Cisneros, Marea Clement, Maryanne Cummings, Joe Grisson, Matt Hicks, Jr., and President Chuck Anderson. Voting Nay: none, and the motion was approved.

7.0 PRESENTATIONS AND SPECIAL RECOGNITION

None presented.

8.0 PUBLIC COMMENT - For matters not on the agenda. None presented.

9.0 ATTORNEY BUSINESS

Attorney Hodge referenced New Business Item 12.1 and disclosed that he also represents the Forest Preserve District of Kane County; however, there is no conflict of interest as both parties are in agreement.

10.0 EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR BUSINESS

10.1 Executive Director's Report

Director Paprocki thanked the Commissioners for taking the time to meet with her prior to the board meeting; reminder that the next board meeting will be March 10; the annual job fair will be held on March 15 at Prisco; the IAPD/IPRA conference luncheon will be January 24; Red Oak's Frosty Fest is January 25; Winter Stage Musical "Grease" performances are February 20-22.

11.0 CONTINUED BUSINESS

None presented.

12.0 NEW BUSINESS

12.1 Approve the Memorandum of Understanding between the Fox Valley Park District and the Forest Preserve District of Kane County with respect to an easement agreement to be reached to enable the placement of a bike and pedestrian bridge over the Fox River in the vicinity of Les Arends Forest Preserve, subject to approval by the Forest Preserve District of Kane County Board of Commissioners.

Jeff Palmquist recommended approval of the MOU for the easement granted to allow the landing site of the pedestrian bridge on forest preserve property. Roll call voting Aye: Jerry Butler, Aimee Cisneros, Marea Clement, Maryanne Cummings, Joe Grisson, Matt Hicks, Jr., and President Chuck Anderson. Voting Nay: none, and the MOU was approved.

12.2 Approve the Amendments to the General Use Ordinance to lower the speed limit on District trails from 20 mph to 15 mph and clarify the definition of Micromobility Devices and the prohibition of motorized scooters on District property.

Jeff Palmquist and Larry Lapp recommended the approval of the amendments to the General Use Ordinance. The changes were made for safety purposes. Roll call voting Aye: Jerry Butler, Aimee Cisneros, Marea Clement, Joe Grisson, Matt Hicks, Jr., and President Chuck Anderson. Voting Nay: none. Abstained: Maryanne Cummings, and the amended ordinance was approved.

12.3 Approve the professional services agreement for the Orchard Valley Golf Course Clubhouse renovation to Wight and Company comprising a preliminary total project budget of \$4,992,174.

Jerad Campbell presented the proposed changes to the Orchard Valley Golf Course Clubhouse and then recommended approval of the professional services agreement. Roll call voting Aye: Jerry Butler, Aimee Cisneros, Marea Clement,

Maryanne Cummings, Joe Grisson, Matt Hicks, Jr., and President Chuck Anderson. Voting Nay: none, and the agreement was approved.

CLOSED SESSION 13.0

The Board of Commissioners did not move into closed session.

RETURN TO OPEN SESSION 14.0

14.1 Approve closed session minutes from December 9, 2024.

A motion and a second was made to approve the December 9, 2024 closed session minutes. Roll call voting Aye: Jerry Butler, Aimee Cisneros, Marea Clement, Maryanne Cummings, Joe Grisson, Matt Hicks, Jr., and President Chuck Anderson. Voting Nay: none, and the closed session minutes were approved.

14.2 President's Comments. None presented.

15.0 ADJOURNMENT

A motion and a second was made to adjourn the meeting. Voice voting Aye: Jerry Butler, Aimee Cisneros, Marea Clement, Maryanne Cummings, Joe Grisson, Matt Hicks, Jr., and President Chuck Anderson. Voting Nay: none, and the meeting was adjourned at 5:27PM.

Respectfully submitted by: Kim Naoncuster

Kim Nooncaster Board Secretary