Fox Valley Park District

11 candidates running for Board of Trustees in April 4 election  

Eleven residents will be vying for a total of seven seats on the Fox Valley Park District Board of Trustees in the April 4 elections.

They will be the first candidates on the ballot in the Park District’s 70-year existence. Since its formation in 1947, state law called for Park Board members to be appointed by the Kane County Board chairman, as opposed to being elected, as most other park boards are throughout the state.

As the second largest Park District in Illinois, Fox Valley serves 233,000 residents in Aurora, North Aurora and Montgomery, covering four counties – Kane, DuPage, Kendall and Will – encompassing 65 square miles.

The new state law, through legislation sponsored by retired Kane County Board chairman Karen McConnaughay, creates three geographic districts, with two elected from each district. A seventh member is elected at-large.

The 1st District includes the entire west side of the Fox River, from the North Aurora village limits on the north to the Montgomery limits in Kendall County to the south. Its western limit is the city limits for North Aurora, Aurora and Montgomery, and the eastern limit is the Fox River.

The 2nd District has a western limit of the Fox River, running south to the Kendall County line, running east to the DuPage-Kane county line, north to the railroad tracks, west to Farnsworth, north to Indian Trail and west on Indian Trail to the river.

The 3rd District runs from the North Aurora village limits and the Aurora city limits on the north to the Aurora city limits in Will County to the south. The eastern edge runs to the Aurora city limits on the east, in DuPage County, at some points going as far as Route 59. Its western limit is the Fox River running south to Indian Trail, where it turns west along Indian Trail to Farnsworth Ave., south to the Burlington Northern Santa Fe Railroad tracks, east to the DuPage-Kane County line, running along the boundary with the 2nd District.

View map of representative districts

Here are the candidates who filed petitions, according to their District jurisdiction; two candidates will be elected from each District, with one at-large representative:

1st District: Chuck Anderson, Aurora; Matt Hicks, Jr., Aurora.

2nd District: LuAnne Kelsey, Montgomery; Beth Waller, Montgomery; Jerry Butler, Aurora; Mary Anne Cummings, Aurora.

3rd District: Giovanni Santana, Aurora; Holly Scholz, Aurora; Roger Schnorr, Aurora; Cynthia G. Penne, Aurora.

At-Large: Alexander G. Alexandrou, Aurora.

The elected Board will be seated on May 1, 2017, at which time a lottery drawing will take place to determine length of terms, which will be staggered. Initially, four Board members will serve four-year terms, and three Board members will serve two-year terms.

Programs At-A-Glance
  • Outdoor Facilities
  • Ages 0-2
  • Ages 3-5
  • Ages 6-8
  • Ages 9-12
  • Teens
  • Adults
  • Active Adults
  • Leagues
For more information